Project 4: Montage

MajaZelewska-P4Montage-Bride

 

Description:

An inspirational montage made by blending of two images, and the use of typography.

 

Process:

I found both my pictures by using Google search tool. I opened Photoshop and cropped my first photograph, the one with bride on a beach, to 8.5in x 11in so that she would be on the second third of the photograph. I used sharpening tool to make the bride stand out more. Then I placed the photo of Scriptures and turned them sideways so that the key would be on the left. I wanted to do that to create a flow that would go from the key to the text and then to the bride whose dress would lead back to the key. I added a mask and used brush with different opacities, mostly about 20% and 80%, to soften the edges and make the sand and dress visible through the Scriptures. Then I added a quote and made some words contrast with others by making them bigger, smaller, or changing the font. I placed the quote on the area with natural white space.

 

Message:

I wanted to make a montage, which would show that by coming closer to the Lord and keeping his commandments we will be blessed, even with eternal blessings thanks to the covenants we made, like those in the temple.

 

Audience:

Women that want to get or are married.

 

Top Thing Learned:

The use of contrast typefaces and creative alignment.

 

Filter / Colorization used and where it was applied:

I used filter to sharpen the edges.

 

Color scheme and color names:

Monochromatic: Gold.

 

Title Font Name & Category:

Script: Nuptial Script

Modern: Perpetua Titling MT

 

Thumbnails of Images used:

summer-beach-dresses  istock_000005489581medium

 

Sources (Links to images on original websites / with title of site):

http://xtrememerch.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/05/summer-beach-dresses.jpg

http://byuwellness.files.wordpress.com/2011/11/istock_000005489581medium.jpg

2 thoughts on “Project 4: Montage

Leave a comment